Tales of a Bar lady.

It will either entertain you, bore you or drive you to throw some punches.

I recently got a new job, yes, yes – you’re probably thinking, “You go girl!”. Why, why, thank you. Anyway, why one would want to work serving drunken oaks till late in the morning, was my exact same question when I even considered applying. Nonetheless, I put on my big girl pants, or rather big girl skirt, and chased my way to the interview after my classes. Uni life, whoopers. Got the job, trained the same evening and was working a shift 2 days later.

Right, that’s two degrees, one job and half a sleeping pattern gone.. wait, a sleeping pattern completely gone, but who needs sleep right?

It’s great though, not only being welcomed into a new sense of community, but being treated with respect and care, and security. The job has it’s perks, for sure.

But the tales of a Bar lady have better perks. Haha! Oh the times I sit behind that bar counter and observe, listen and end up laughing my butt off. It’s the times you get to be part of another person’s insight and life for those few moments, and to be part of their story and experiences that genuinely pull me in and make me think and realize a lot about life and experiences in general, and the amount of ups and downs everyone goes through. Everyone has their own baggage, and everyone has their own story to tell. Every story is as beautiful as the other – whether it’s filled with a whirlwind of pain, joys, scars, beauty or everlasting happiness, let them be who they want to be. Let everyone discover themselves independently of the world and the pressure of society.

Other nights however, I get thrown at with lighters and shouted at for an order for the fourth round of double Brandy specials and 5 more Jagers, 3 specials and 12 Jager shots down. Yes, I was counting. Only to follow, Beans drenched in tomato sauce to be guzzled out of the can. Entertainment galore. To follow this, getting asked on a Date, having denied as not being interested in anything and being told they know exactly what type of person I am, and why I’m ‘rejecting’ him and it went on. Then getting apologized too about 4 times, being asked if I said no because they’re ugly and lastly being told “We would be good together.” Well, my boy, rejection is hard, I do get that. Nonetheless, it’s simply about needing to mend my own pieces again and having to rediscover myself and my own content space, and happiness. Life isn’t about jumping around, but rather a slow and endless process to rediscovery of oneself.

The tales of a Bar lady are genuinely always of interest and entertainment, especially when someone teases you about your Blog, cough, Mr. Copywriter – but I love it – with all it’s craziness and character.

Sometimes, you need to do what you never thought you would to discover a piece of world you never would have otherwise discovered.

Xox,

N

 

Published by

nickscor19

Nutrionist. Blogger. Writer. Gym Bun'

Leave a comment